Remembering VF(N)-101

How can VF(N)-101 best be remembered?

I created this blog back in 2015 when Flight Lieutenant John Kelly’s son sent me this picture of his father on a group picture.

vfn-101

Collection John Kelly (courtesy Gunnar Kelly)

This is how I got started with writing a blog with the idea of remembering unsung heroes.

Faces but with just a name. 

Richard Emerson  Harmer was also smiling, as well as other night fighter naval aviators from VF(N)-101 aboard the Enterprise, but I did not know him… 

vfn-101-richard-emerson-harmer

Then Bob Brunson, another naval aviator on that picture, found my blog and I could add a name to another smiling face.

robert-brunson

Bob Brunson who knew Richard Harmer’s son gave me his email to contact him. What evolved from this contact was more than 3 gigabytes of files about his father Richard Harmer.

Photos like this one…

Documents…, and foremost his complete 1944 diary.

I just had to turn back time, and start writing on each of the 39 naval aviators seen on the deck of USS Saratoga 15 July 1942…

VF-5 July, 1942

Top row (left to right): Price, Reiplinger, Altemus, Gunsolus, Eichenberger, Innis, Gray, Kleinmann, Morgan, Roach, Dufilho, Smith

Center row: Currie, Robb, Wesolowski. Starkes, Davy, Holt, Daly, Presley, McDonald, Tabberer, Barbieri, Haynes, Bass, Blair, Bright

Bottom row: Kleinman, Stover, Crews, Brown, Southerland, Harmer, Simpler, Richardson, Green, Jensen, Clarke, Stepanek. (photo from the collection of Capt. H. W. Crews)

Before writing about VF(N)-101.


To contact me you can write a comment or use this contact form.

7 thoughts on “Remembering VF(N)-101

  1. You do a great job of remembering the navy pilots of WW2. VF(N)-101 was just a small squadron flying Corsairs at night. You may wish to recognize other pilots under the name of Naval Aviator. Bob B

    Like

    • Pilots of VF(N)-101 will be all be remembered when I have completed this first mission.

      I value your contribution to my blog. I would like to move faster but I have decided to post once a week so I can add more information on each Naval Pilot if readers contribute something like with Marion Dufilho.

      Like

  2. I am doing research on VF(N)-75 & VF(N)-101 and the Corsairs they flew. Can you contact me? I’d love to know what information you have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

