Preserving the Past

There are things you just can’t explain. For one there is my passion for airplanes since 1958, my passion for the history of World War Two, and this passion for writing blogs since 2008.

I studied to be a history teacher in the mid 60s. Graduating in 1970, I only taught history for two years out of 34. Being a young teacher in 1970, I got what was the least interesting subject to teach for other teachers in my school…

Religious education.

I taught that subject for two years, which I must say I have enjoyed teaching. Then, in the third year, English as a second language was added to my teacher’s task since I was bilingual.

A year later, the school principal needed a second history teacher…

I had finally made it!

My dream had finally come through…however that dream would last for only two years before I got shipped back to teaching English as a second language for the rest of the 70s. Later in 1980, I was transfered to another school board teaching English as a second language to 14 groups of 9 to 12 years-old kids. In 1981 I became a 6th grade teacher. I taught 6th grade for 15 years. In 1997, I got promoted to 5th grade, and I retired in 2004.

Revisiting the past is what I have been doing since 2008 with my first blog. It was a blog about genealogy written in French. I appropriately named it Nos ancêtres. I then created Our Ancestors, its English version, with the goal of reaching out for distant relatives in the U.S. and finding out more about my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé aka Dennis Lagassee.

Then, in July 2009, my wife’s uncle dropped a bombshell in a family reunion. More like a torpedo. He had been a stoker aboard a Canadian destroyer during World War Two torpedoed off the coast of France on April 29, 1944. I had never heard about HMCS Athabaskan which tells you a lot about what kind of history I was taught in the 60s.

This is when I decided to write about HMCS Athabaskan on my third blog Souvenirs de guerre. Lest We Forget, the English version, followed soon because many English speaking people were sharing so much information, stories, and pictures about HMCS Athabaskan.

I could go on and on with this story and tell you why I got to write 28 blogs about World War Two…

You don’t have to count them nor read them all.

US Navy Night Fighter Squadron VF(N)-101
johnkellynightfighterpilot.wordpress.com

Souvenirs de guerre
mpierrela.wordpress.com

British Commonwealth Air Training Plan
bcatp.wordpress.com

A Very Unlikely Hero
johncustancebaker.wordpress.com

Edmund Poscavage
edmundposcavage.wordpress.com

Lest We Forget
athabaskang07.wordpress.com

On Eternal Patrol
ussbullhead.wordpress.com

Pilote de Spitfire – Spitfire Pilot
georgesnadon.wordpress.com

Preserving the past
clarencesimonsen.wordpress.com

RAF 33 Squadron
33squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 68 Squadron
raf68squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 122 Squadron
raf122squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 203 Squadron
raf203squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 21 Squadron
raf21squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 23 Squadron
no23squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 238 Squadron
raf238squadron.wordpress.com

RAF 249 Squadron
249squadronraf.wordpress.com

RAF 293 Squadron
raf293squadron.wordpress.com

RCAF 128 (F) Squadron
rcafno128squadron.wordpress.com

RCAF 420 Snowy Owl
rcaf420snowyowl.wordpress.com

RCAF 425 Les Alouettes
425alouette.wordpress.com

RCAF 425 Les Alouettes II
425alouetteii.wordpress.com

RCAF No. 401 squadron
rcaf401squadron.wordpress.com

RCAF No. 403 Squadron
rcaf403squadron.wordpress.com

RCAF No. 443 Squadron
443squadron.wordpress.com

Remembering HMCS Regina K- 234
hmcsregina.wordpress.com

Sergeant Gerald Thomas Padden
sergeantpadden.wordpress.com

The Smith Brothers
anotherunsunghero.wordpress.com

Next time we pay homage to the first on 39 pilots whose picture was taken on July 15th, 1942 aboard CV-3 USS Saratoga.

robert-price

 

Leave a Reply

